Skip to main content

MAGIS: Conservation Warriors

Catalogue

Use the box below to search the catalogue to find books available in the Christopher Brennan Library. 

Databases

 

Science Online includes topics on Biology; Chemistry; Computer Science; Earth Science; Environmental Science; Forensic Science; Marine Science; Mathematics; Physics; Space and Astronomy; and Weather and Climate. 

New Scientist The Christopher Brennan Library has an online subscription to New Scientist. Ask your friendly librarian for the logon details to gain access. The latest issue (not for loan) and past issues are available in print form in the library. 

Ask your friendly librarian for the logon details to World Book Online. Once you have logged in - go to World Book Kids and go to the World of Animals section. There is an excellent feature called Compare All Animals that provides extensive information on any animal comparison. The friendly librarians will be able to assist if you have any queries. 

Books in the CBL

About

Useful Weblinks

WWF - Habitats This website by the World Wide Fund for Nature covers the habitats and animal life present in the following habitats: polar regions; coniferous forests; temperate forests; grasslands; deserts; mountains; tropical forests; oceanic islands; freshwater wetlands; and oceans. 

Animal Species and Habitats This website by The Nature Conservancy profiles a variety of animals including ideal habitats. 

BBC Nature - Habitats This website provides links to many various habitats for plants and animals to live.

Animals A-Z This dictionary covers over 600 different animals. Click on the animal and read facts about the animal including its classification and ideal habitat.

San Diego Zoo - Habitats Click on the various habitats to discover the animals that live there.

Detroit Zoo - Zoo Habitats Although this site is American, much of the content is relevant to this task.

Classification - This website provides an overview of classification including the classification of species into five kingdoms, as well as examples of vertebrates, invertebrates and plants. This site also explains and gives an example of a dichitomous tree.

Characteristics of Living Things - This website identifies the main characteristics of living things.

What is a Mammal? - This website defines mammals, outlines their characteristics, behaviours, habitat, development and reproduction.