Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Skills: Databases

Databases

Databases

 

 

Encyclopedia Britannica is an excellent encyclopedia resource. No login required.

 

Questia School is an online library and research tool with thousands of eBooks, academic journal articles, magazines, newspapers and encyclopedia entries. Please check the Passwords page for logon details.

 

World Book Online has a great range of resources available for your research. Student is for middle school students. Advanced for years 11 and 12. Please check the Passwords page for logon details.


 

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. This database is particularly useful for senior students wanting to access academic journals for authoritative content. Students can create a personal Account which is useful to collate their research. You do not need to login.

JSTOR Logo
Search in:
 

Need help? See the "How to Search JSTOR" guide.

Search Engines

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar is a free online search engine that indexes the most peer-reviewed online journals plus scholarly books and non-peer reviewed journal articles. It is a much more reliable search engine than Google for research-based assignments. 

 

Subject Specific Databases

ANCIENT HISTORY

ENGLISH

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

AustLit is a biographical and bibliographical database about Australian literature and storytelling. Use AustLit to discover information about Australian writing, writing and publishing, including creative and critical works, children's and young adult literature, drama, film and tv.

MODERN HISTORY 

History Today The Christopher Brennan Library has an online subscription to History Today. Ask your friendly librarian for the logon details to gain access. The latest issue (not for loan) and past issues are available in print form in the library. 

SCIENCE

New Scientist The Christopher Brennan Library has an online subscription to New Scientist. Ask your friendly librarian for the logon details to gain access. The latest issue (not for loan) and past issues are available in print form in the library. 

Login Details & Passwords

General Research Platforms

Australian Bureau of Statistics is the Australian Government's statistical agency which includes 2016 Census data.

 

 

Other Libraries

State Library of NSW: eResources Browse the State Library of NSW collection of eResources including journals, databases, eBooks and research guides. Joining the State Library of NSW is very easy and freely available. 


Trove helps you find and use resources relating to Australia. It's more than a search engine. Trove brings together content from libraries, museums, archives and other research organisations and gives you tools to explore and build. Trove is created and maintained by the National Library of Australia.

National Library of Australia: eResources Locate indexes, full-text ejournals, websites and guides available through the NLA on a range of topics. Some access requires membership to the library, which is free and easily accessible. 

The National Archives of Australia collects and preserves Australian Government records that reflects Australian history and identity. This is a suitable resource for History students.