Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Authors: Patrick Ness

Biography & Bibliography

I’m Patrick Ness. I claim three states in America as my home (as Americans are wont to do): I was born in Virginia, my first memories are Hawaiian, and I went to junior high and high school in Washington. Then I lived in California for college (at USC) and moved to the United Kingdom in 1999, where I’ve lived (mostly in London) ever since.  (taken from his website)


  • The Crash of Hennington (2003)
  • The Crane Wife (2003)
  • Chaos Walking series:
  1. The Knife of Never Letting Go (2008)
  2. The Ask and the Answer (2009)
  3. Monsters of Men (2010)
  • Short stories to accompany the Chaos Walking series:
  1. 1.5 The New World (2009)
  2. 2.5 The Wide, Wide Sea (2013)
  3. 3.5 Snowscape (2013)
  • A Monster Calls (2011)
  • More Than This (2013)
  • The Rest of Us Just Live Here (2013)
  • Release (2017)

  • And the Ocean Was Our Sky (2018)

  • Burn (2020)

Patrick offers some tips for writing your own book here.

Book Trailers

Patrick discusses his books

Books to Film