Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Authors: Suzanne Collins

Sites and Interviews

Suzanne Collins on Goodreads

Suzanne talks to the NY Times


Biography & Bibliography

Suzanne Collins is an American television writer and author. She began her writing career in 1991 as a writer for children’s shows for Nickelodeon and Scholastic Entertainment.

The story Alice in Wonderland made her think what it would be like to fall down a manhole in New York rather than a rabbit hole in the country, and so in 2003 she began writing the Underland Chronicles. The five novels are about a boy named Gregor and his adventures in subterranean New York.

The Hunger Games was released in 2008, a story partly inspired by the Greek myth of Theseus and the Minotaur. Another inspiration was her father's career in the Air Force, which gave her insight to poverty, starvation, and the effects of war. The Hunger Games trilogy has gone on to sell over 100 million copies world wide. Suzanne adapted the novels to film and the first movie was released in 2012

In 2020 a prequel to The Hunger Games was released – The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes. The book follows Coriolanus Snow, who is chosen to mentor a tribute in the upcoming 10th Hunger Games. He is assigned the District 12 tribute, Lucy Gray Baird, who sparks the Capitol's attention after singing during the reaping.


  • The Underland Chronicles
    • Gregor the Overlander (2003)
    • Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane (2004)
    • Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods (2005)
    • Gregor and the Marks of Secret (2006)
    • Gregor and the Code of Claw (2007)
  • The Hunger Games series
    • The Hunger Games (2008)
    • Catching Fire (2009)
    • Mockingjay (2010)
    • The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (2020)

Other books

  • Fire Proof: Shelby Woo #11 (1999)
  • When Charlie McButton Lost Power (2005)
  • Year of the Jungle (2013)

Suzanne discusses the Hunger Games trilogy

Book Trailers

Books to Film